in Evanston’s history
Originally a Victorian Home, Stone Porch was transformed into a Tudor Revival in the early 20th century. It was once the home of Illinois Representative and U.S. Congressman Ralph Edwin Church and his wife, Congresswoman Marguerite Church, who hosted many dignitaries during their political careers. Stone Porch’s rich history cemented the house as an Evanston landmark by the Evanston City Council in the 1970s.
Five Families since 1889
Edwin Franklin Brown built the house in 1889 in the Queen Anne style. The architects of the house also designed several other Evanston residences.
Frederick Martin purchased the house in 1895 and lived there with his family. The Martins remodeled the property to include what is now the coach house.
Ralph and Marguerite Church became the third owners of the house in 1925 and transformed their new home into the charming stucco-and-timber Tudor Revival we see today. In addition to changing the style of their home, the Churches changed its address from 1640 Sheridan to 300 Church Street. This rendered the family “The Churches of Church Street.” Together, the Churches represented Evanston in state and national government for 42 years.
In 1990, the house was purchased by its fourth owners, David and Jane Doyle. Over the next 22 years, the Doyles hosted countless social gatherings, Evanston school functions and charity events in their gracious home.